Grace

How can love survive in such a graceless age? The more I think I know, the less I understand.
–Lyrics “The Heart of the Matter”

I look at you,
Lover.
Soul overexposed and spotty

same as I.
A liberated captive
A semi-willing victim
An escape junkie
Nicole Grad
What do you see
when you look at me?

Mirrored mesh of fragile&strong
Brimming with inelegant hope
Calico patches of darkness
Stirred in with eroded
faith shatters

I am not
the one you fell in love with.
That person
is a heartwish
of your imagination

I am not a fantasy
I am a sometimes unfortunate reality

The real question is:
can you accept this
or will you
just keep pretending?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

