Trust

Trust is a currency I know well

I’ve long trafficked in it,

demanding fines and taxes

for any breaches in regulation.

that is not to say

that I understand it

or even embrace it

Like all Coins,

it is edged, expendable

and capable of breaking

the backs of nations

or whispering cracks

into the ears of lovers.

I don’t know if I lost it,

skipping merrily away

lying on a curbside

for some unsuspecting bystander,

or if I ever even had it.

Maybe its time

to go back to the barter system.

One thought on “Trust

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

