Aba

It hasn’t always

been easy between us

There have been

as many fights as good memories

we’ve been worlds apart

and long, hollow silent

 

but when I close my eyes & hum

to the opening strains of

‘wish you were here’

Taste the salt air on my face

as it beckons me to dive in the water

laugh way too hard at the

timeless antics of Peter Sellers

or take a road less traveled

that I may have otherwise missed

 

It’s because of you.

I’m my own person

But in your way,

you helped to shape who I am,

and for that,

I could never thank you enough.

I love you, Aba. 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

